LIEBE

First part of the Trilogy of Spectatorship – In search for proximity

Love means admitting that we can’t do it alone. Love is the beginning of a new world, a founding act of two distinct subjects that accept their differences as a requirement for love. This is how the French philosopher Alain Badiou describes it in In Praise of Love. And we can view the encounter between artists and audience in the same way – a “scene of the two.”

LIEBE is the first part of a trilogy that will span a period of three years, a trilogy that explores the fragile relationship between viewers and dancers. In preparation for the performance, Jenny Beyer and her team have been opening their rehearsal studio since October 2014, making their audience the most important player and research object in order to explore respective expectations and possibilities of cooperation: When do spectators and dancers feel close to each other? How can the audience become a part of the choreography without having to dance? How can movement touch us without badgering us? In search for moments of proximity, LIEBE looks at what it means to exist together and at the connections that viewers and dancers forge within the performance space.

“Right from the start, the dancers establish an unobtrusive closeness to the audience that has nothing to do with the confrontational nature of some performances of this kind that force viewers to participate on stage (…) An unforgettable evening. Smart, sensual, playful and downright incredibly connected.”

Tom R. Schulz, Hamburger Abendblatt, May 21, 2015

TEAM

Concept/Artistic Direction

Jenny Beyer 

Dance/Choreography

Jenny Beyer
Chris Leuenberger
Matthew Rogers
Nina Wollny 

Music

Jetzmann 

Costume

Adelaida Cue Bär 

Dramaturgy

Anne Kersting
Igor Dobricic 

Light

Henning Eggers 

Production

Solveigh Patett

PREMIERE

May 20, 2015, 7:30 pm at Kampnagel, Hamburg

Further Performances: May 21 – 24 at Kampnagel, Hamburg and  June 5 and 6, 2015 at Theater Freiburg

LIEBE is a production of Jenny Beyer in Co-Production with Kampnagel Hamburg and Theater Freiburg, funded by Kulturbehörde Hamburg and Hamburgische Kulturstiftung
Photos: Thies Rätzke

 

OPEN STUDIOCollaboration
DEUX NEXT PREMIERE
KAMPNAGEL 07.04.21

LIEBE

Erster Teil der Trilogie der Zuschauer*innenschaft- Auf der Suche nach Nähe

Die Liebe ist das Zugeständnis, dass es allein nicht geht. Sie ist der Anfang einer neuen Welt, ein Gründungsakt zweier unterschiedlicher Subjekte, die ihre Verschiedenheit als Bedingung der Liebe akzeptieren. So beschreibt es der französische Philosoph Alain Badiou in »Lob der Liebe«. Ähnlich könnte man die Begegnung zwischen Künstler*innen und Zuschauer*innen sehen, eine »Bühne der Zwei«. 

LIEBE ist der Auftakt zu einer auf drei Jahre angelegten Trilogie, die sich dem fragilen Verhältnis von Zuschauer*innen und Tänzer*innen widmet. In Vorbereitung auf die Vorstellung öffnen Jenny Beyer und ihr Team seit Oktober 2014 ihren Probenraum und machen ihr Publikum zum wichtigsten Akteur und Forschungsgegenstand, um die gegenseitigen Erwartungen und Möglichkeiten im Miteinander auszuloten: Wann berührt Tanz? Wie kann das Publikum Teil eines choreografischen Geschehens werden, ohne mittanzen zu müssen? Wie bewegt Bewegung, ohne zu bedrängen? Im Sinne einer Annäherung lenkt LIEBE den Blick auf das gemeinsame Sein und die Verbindungen, die Zuschauer*innen und Tänzer*innen im Theaterraum eingehen.

"Von Anfang an etablieren die Tänzer eine unaufdringliche Nähe zum Publikum, die so gar nichts von der Encounter-Härte hat, mit der Zuschauer sonst bisweilen bei solchen Performances zum Mittun auf der Bühne genötigt werden. (...)Ein unvergesslicher Abend. Klug, sinnlich, verspielt und geradezu unwahrscheinlich verbunden."

Tom R. Schulz, Hamburger Abendblatt, 21.05.2015

TEAM

KONZEPT/KÜNSTLERISCHE LEITUNG

Jenny Beyer 

Tanz/Choreography

Jenny Beyer
Chris Leuenberger
Matthew Rogers
Nina Wollny 

MUSIK

Jetzmann 

KOSTÜM

Adelaida Cue Bär 

DRAMATURGIE

Anne Kersting
Igor Dobricic 

LICHT

Henning Eggers 

PRODUKTION

Solveigh Patett

 

 

PREMIERE

20. Mai 2015, K2 Kampnagel Hamburg

 21.05. bis 24.05. K2, Kampnagel Hamburg
Weitere Vorstellungen: 05 und 06.11.2015, Theater Freiburg

LIEBE ist eine Produktion von Jenny Beyer in Ko-Produktion mit Kampnagel Hamburg und Theater Freiburg, gefördert durch die Kulturbehörde Hamburg und Hamburgische Kulturstiftung
Fotos: Thies Rätzke
OFFENES STUDIOKollaboration
DEUX NÄCHSTE PREMIERE
Online 07.04.21